SST 2024


The 19th Australasian International Conference on
Speech Science And Technology

December 3rd-5th, Melbourne, Australia

The Australasian Speech Science and Technology Association and the  University of Melbourne are pleased to host the 19th Australasian International Conference on Speech Science and Technology (SST2024).

SST is an international interdisciplinary conference designed to foster collaboration among speech scientists, engineers, psycholinguists, audiologists, linguists, speech/language pathologists and industrial partners, and welcomes submissions from all areas of speech science and technology.

SST2024 will be held on the University of Melbourne campus, in Melbourne, Victoria. SST2024 will be held as an in-person event.

Important dates

  • Deadline for special sessions and tutorial proposals: 8 April
  • Deadline for paper/abstract submission: 10 June 24 June (11:59pm Niue Time, UTC11)
  • Notification of acceptance: 22 August
  • Deadline for upload of revised submissions: 23 September
  • Deadline for presenter registration: 18 October
  • Deadline for early bird registration: 31 October
  • Deadline for late registration: 15 November
  • Tutorial day: 2 December 2024
  • Conference: 3-5 December 2024

Keynote speakers

Professor Marija Tabain, La Trobe University

Dr Rosey Billington, Australian National University (Anne Cutler Lecture)

Associate Professor Sasha Calhoun, Victoria University of Wellington

SocioPhonAus4 keynote speaker:

Associate Professor Lynn Clark, University of Canterbury


Hosted by: 

Enquiries: [email protected]

Organising Committee

Olga Maxwell (Chair)
Debbie Loakes (Secretary)
David Grayden (Treasurer)
Yizhou Wang (Publicity)
John Hajek
Chloé Diskin-Holdaway
Janet Fletcher
Angelo Dian (Student Liaison)

Conference Support

Shuting Liu

Technical Program Committee

Olga Maxwell
Brett Baker
Helen Fraser
Colleen Holt
Adam Vogel
James Walker
David Deterding